Staff and faculty are working remotely and all remain on email and able to set up phone and virtual meetings upon request. We are doing our best to respond to calls and emails when they come in and will respond to requests as soon as possible.

Phone: 520-621-2585 and 520-621-6298
Please visit SoA COVID-19 Information OR the School of Anthropology Research Restart Approval Process page:

2021 P.E.O. Scholars Announced

The School of Anthropology is pleased to congratulate two new P.E.O. Scholar Award recipients this year! Rachel RosenbaumKelsey Hanson, and Sarah Renkert (pictured left to right) are three members of a cohort of 100 doctoral students in the U. S. and Canada selected to receive a Scholar Award from the P.E.O. Sisterhood in 2021. The P.E.O. Scholar Awards were established in 1991 to provide substantial merit-based awards for women of the United States and Canada who are pursuing a doctoral-level degree at an accredited college or university. Scholar Awards recipients are a select group of women chosen for their high level of academic achievement and their potential for having a positive impact on society. In celebration of the 30th year of the award, the P.E.O. Sisterhood increased the funding amount to $20,000 this year. Sarah commented that for SoA doctoral candidates to garner three out of the 100 “is pretty impressive, given that the competition is open to women completing their dissertations across the U.S. and Canada.” 

Rachel was sponsored by Chapter A of Phoenix, AZ, and her dissertation is titled “Maintaining and Repairing Ruins of Violence: Infrastructural Politics in Beirut, Lebanon.” Kelsey’s funding will support her pursuit of her doctoral dissertation, tentatively titled “Communities of ‘Chromatic Prayer’: Tracing the Emergence of Social Inequality in the Chaco and Post-Chaco Worlds (A.D. 850–1300).” Sarah's dissertation is titled “The Right to Cook Together: Food Aid and Kitchen Controversies.”

The SoA boasts a number of PEO Scholars in recent years, including Stephanie Martin in 2019-2020, Amanda Hilton and Britt Singletary in 2018–2019, Florence Durney and Cari Tusing in 2017–2018, Catherine Dungan in 2012–2013, and Wendy Vogt in 2009–2010.

(Anthro News Digest date: 04/16/2021 and 04/23/2021)