Staff and faculty are working remotely and all remain on email and able to set up phone and virtual meetings upon request. We are doing our best to respond to calls and emails when they come in and will respond to requests as soon as possible.

Phone: 520-621-2585 and 520-621-6298
Email: Anthro@email.arizona.edu
Please visit SoA COVID-19 Information

Department Directory

Enter a name and/or lastname
ALL
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
Lindsay M. Montgomery's picture
Lindsay M. Montgomery
Assistant Professor of Anthropology
lmmontgomery@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-5109
Office: Haury Building, 408D
Lindsay is an anthropological archaeologist whose work focuses on the material practices of mobile groups during the late pre-contact and colonial periods. Her research employs a collaborative and multi-disciplinary approach, which brings together archaeological, archival, oral historical, and...
[more information]
Kaitlyn Moore's picture
Kaitlyn Moore
Ph.D. Program
moorek@email.arizona.edu
Katie received her Bachelor's degree in Anthropology and History from the College of William & Mary in Williamsburg, Virginia in 2010.  During her time at William & Mary, she participated in fieldwork with the Barbados Historical Archaeology and Ethnohistory Field school under Frederick...
[more information]
Mary Ellen Morbeck's picture
Mary Ellen Morbeck
Professor Emerita
morbeck@email.arizona.edu
[more information]
Victoria Moses's picture
Victoria Moses
vmoses@email.arizona.edu
Victoria (Vicki) Moses is part of the Archaeology of the Mediterranean World concentration at the UA. She has conducted fieldwork in Rome, Arcadia, and Sardinia, as well as central Ghana and Northern Michigan. Her focus is on faunal analysis in the Mediterranean.
[more information]
Rebecca Mountain's picture
Rebecca Mountain
rmount@email.arizona.edu
I am a Ph.D. candidate in the archaeology program, with a specific focus on bioarchaeology. My dissertation research focuses on the evolution of osteoporosis and skeletal fragility in modern humans, as well as possible selective pressures driving the gracilization of the human skeleton. I am also...
[more information]
Jessica L Munson's picture
Jessica L Munson
Ph.D. Program
jlmunson@email.arizona.edu
[more information]
Beth Alpert Nakhai's picture
Beth Alpert Nakhai
Associate Professor of Anthropology (Judaic Studies)
bnakhai@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-626-5762
FAX: 520-626-5767
Office: Louise Foucar Marshall Bldg, Room 420
Office Location: Marshall Bldg., Suite 420 Beth Alpert Nakhai is an Associate Professor in the Arizona Center for Judaic Studies, and an affiliated member of the School of Anthropology.  In addition, she is affiliated with the School of Middle East...
[more information]
Jessica Fae Nelson's picture
Jessica Fae Nelson
PhD Candidate
jfnelson@email.arizona.edu
[more information]
Christina Newhall's picture
Christina Newhall
newhallc@email.arizona.edu
Joint Anthropology and Linguistics (ANLI) PhD Student
[more information]
Mimi Nichter's picture
Mimi Nichter
Professor of Anthropology, Joint Appointments in Public Health and Family and Consumer Resources
mimin@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520.626.9067
FAX: 520.621.2088
Office: Geronimo Building, Room 318
I am a sociocultural anthropologist whose research focuses in the area of medical anthropology. I have long standing interests in health and development both in the United States as well as in South and Southeast Asia. I have an extensive background working in maternal and child health and women's...
[more information]
Mark Nichter's picture
Mark Nichter
Regents' Professor and Professor of Anthropology, Public Health, Family Medicine
mnichter@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520.621.2665
FAX: 520.621.2088
Office: Emil W. Haury Building, Room 214
I am a sociocultural anthropologist who specializes in medical anthropology and has considerable field experience in Global Health, health disparities, and ethnomedicine broadly defined. I have conducted research on a wide range of topics from child survival and reproductive health to emerging...
[more information]
Caitria O'Shaughnessy's picture
Caitria O'Shaughnessy
[more information]
Nancy N. Odegaard's picture
Nancy N. Odegaard
Professor of Anthropology, Conservator (ASM), Professor (MSE)
odegaard@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520.621.6314
FAX: 520.621.2976
Office: Arizona State Museum South, Room 125A
[more information]
John W. Olsen's picture
John W. Olsen
Regents' Professor Emeritus
jwo@arizona.edu
Capping a 36-year career on the faculty of the University of Arizona, John Olsen retired from UA in 2016 to focus his energies on research.  He is a former Head of the UA Department of Anthropology (1998-2008) and is now Executive Director of the Je Tsongkhapa Endowment for Central and Inner Asian...
[more information]
Raul Ortiz's picture
Raul Ortiz
jraulortiz@email.arizona.edu
Born and raised in Guatemala City. I completed a BA and a Licenciatura in archaeology from Universidad del Valle de Guatemala. I have worked in the three major regions of Guatemala: the Pacific Coast, the highlands, and the lowlands.
[more information]
Dana Osborne's picture
Dana Osborne
Postdoctoral Researcher at the Bureau of Applied Research in Anthropology
dosborne@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-6295
FAX: 520-621-2088
Office: Haury 310A
Postdoctoral Researcher at the Bureau of Applied Research in Anthropology PhD, May 2015. http://www.wennergren.org/grantees/osborne-dana-marie
[more information]
Lisa Palacios's picture
Lisa Palacios
[more information]
Juan Manuel Palomo Mijangos's picture
Juan Manuel Palomo Mijangos
jmpalomo@email.arizona.edu
[more information]
Saffo Papantonopoulou's picture
Saffo Papantonopoulou
Anthropology and Middle East Studies Dual PhD
saffo@email.arizona.edu
My research traces the transformation of various sexual epistemes in the Balkans and Middle East, with a focus on both male (homo)eroticism and the transgender woman's body. While my research is ethnographic, it is grounded in historical research on sexual pre/modernity in the Islamicate world. 
[more information]
Nancy J. Parezo's picture
Nancy J. Parezo
Professor of Anthropology, Professor (AIS), Curator, Ethnology (ASM)
parezo@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520.626.4057
FAX: 520.621.7952
Office: Richard P. Harvill Building, Room 235C
[more information]
Thomas K. Park's picture
Thomas K. Park
Professor of Anthropology, Professor (MENAS), Research Anthropologist (BARA)
tpark@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520.621.2632
FAX: 520.621.2088
Office: Geronimo Building, Room 316
Education: University of Wisconsin - Madison: Ph.D. Anthropology and History 1983. M.A. Agricultural Economics 1982. M.A. Anthropology 1977. McGill University, Montreal, Canada: B.A. 1st Class Honors in Anthropology and Philosophy 1974. University of Bergen, Norway: Studied Anthropology 1971-2....
[more information]
Charlotte Pearson's picture
Charlotte Pearson
Assistant Professor, Anthropology, Assistant Research Professor (Dendrochronology)
clpearson@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-1608
Office: Bryant Bannister Tree Ring (#45B), Room 404
[more information]
Karina Pedroza's picture
Karina Pedroza
SBS Tech
kpedroza@email.arizona.edu
[more information]
Rayshma Pereira's picture
Rayshma Pereira
Manager of Administration
rpereira@email.arizona.edu
TEL: (520) 621-6303
Office: 210E
[more information]
Danielle Phelps's picture
Danielle Phelps
dophelps@email.arizona.edu
Danielle Phelps is currently a Ph.D. Candidate in the Mediterranean Archaeology Program in the School of Anthropology. She received her M.A. in Art History with a focus in Ancient Egyptian Art and Archaeology from the University of Memphis in 2009. Her M.A. thesis focused on an art histoical...
[more information]
Susan U. Philips's picture
Susan U. Philips
Professor Emerita
sphilips@email.arizona.edu
[more information]
Evelyn Pickering's picture
Evelyn Pickering
evelynp@email.arizona.edu
Evelyn Pickering is currently seeking her PhD in Sociocultural Anthropology with a focus in Applied Anthropology at the University of Arizona.  
[more information]
Ivy L. Pike's picture
Ivy L. Pike
Associate Professor of Anthropology
ilpike@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520.626.2099
FAX: 520.621.2088
Office: Emil W. Haury Building, Room 302
My research blends the impacts of inequality on health with the acknowledgement that human biology is shaped by our evolutionary heritage.   I am interested in blending evolution and embodiment - what evolutionary mechanisms allow us to track our social and physical environments to improve fitness...
[more information]
Todd Alan Pitezel's picture
Todd Alan Pitezel
PhD Dissertator
pitezel@email.arizona.edu
[more information]
Eric Plemons's picture
Eric Plemons
Associate Professor of Anthropology
eplemons@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-3102
Office: Haury 315
I am a medical anthropologist focused on surgical practice and the production, circulation and application of expert knowledge on gendered bodies. My first book, The Look of a Woman (2017, Duke University Press), examines facial feminization surgery, a series of bone and soft tissue reconstructive...
[more information]

Pages