Staff and faculty are working remotely and all remain on email and able to set up phone and virtual meetings upon request. We are doing our best to respond to calls and emails when they come in and will respond to requests as soon as possible.

Phone: 520-621-2585 and 520-621-6298
Email: Anthro@email.arizona.edu
Please visit SoA COVID-19 Information OR the *NEW* School of Anthropology Phase 5 Research Restart page: https://anthropology.arizona.edu/phase-5-research-restart-process

Department Directory

Enter a name and/or lastname
ALL
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
Lisa Palacios's picture
Lisa Palacios
BA (2010) Anthropology, University of Arizona MA (2014) American Indian Studies, University of Arizona PhD (in progress) Anthropology, University of Arizona
[more information]
Saffo Papantonopoulou's picture
Saffo Papantonopoulou
Anthropology and Middle East Studies Dual PhD
saffo@email.arizona.edu
My research traces the transformation of various sexual epistemes in the Balkans and Middle East, with a focus on both male (homo)eroticism and the transgender woman's body. While my research is ethnographic, it is grounded in historical research on sexual pre/modernity in the Islamicate world. 
[more information]
Nancy J. Parezo's picture
Nancy J. Parezo
Professor Emerita of Anthropology, Professor (AIS), Curator, Ethnology (ASM)
parezo@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520.626.4057
FAX: 520.621.7952
Office: Richard P. Harvill Building, Room 235C
[more information]
Thomas K. Park's picture
Thomas K. Park
Professor of Anthropology, Professor (MENAS), Research Anthropologist (BARA)
tpark@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520.621.2632
FAX: 520.621.2088
Office: Geronimo Building, Room 316
Education: University of Wisconsin - Madison: Ph.D. Anthropology and History 1983. M.A. Agricultural Economics 1982. M.A. Anthropology 1977. McGill University, Montreal, Canada: B.A. 1st Class Honors in Anthropology and Philosophy 1974. University of Bergen, Norway: Studied Anthropology 1971-2....
[more information]
Maya Lynn Patterson's picture
Maya Lynn Patterson
[more information]
Charlotte Pearson's picture
Charlotte Pearson
Associate Professor, Anthropology, Associate Research Professor (Dendrochronology)
clpearson@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-1608
Office: Bryant Bannister Tree Ring (#45B), Room 404
[more information]
Rayshma Pereira's picture
Rayshma Pereira
Manager of Administration
rpereira@email.arizona.edu
TEL: (520) 621-6303
Office: 210E
[more information]
Susan U. Philips's picture
Susan U. Philips
Professor Emerita
sphilips@email.arizona.edu
[more information]
Ivy L. Pike's picture
Ivy L. Pike
Professor of Anthropology
ilpike@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520.626.2099
FAX: 520.621.2088
Office: Emil W. Haury Building, Room 302
My research blends the impacts of inequality on health with the acknowledgement that human biology is shaped by our evolutionary heritage.   I am interested in blending evolution and embodiment - what evolutionary mechanisms allow us to track our social and physical environments to improve fitness...
[more information]
Todd Alan Pitezel's picture
Todd Alan Pitezel
PhD Dissertator
pitezel@email.arizona.edu
[more information]
Eric Plemons's picture
Eric Plemons
Associate Professor of Anthropology
eplemons@email.arizona.edu
TEL: 520-621-3102
Office: Haury 315
I am a medical anthropologist focused on surgical practice and the production, circulation and application of expert knowledge on gendered bodies. My first book, The Look of a Woman (2017, Duke University Press), examines facial feminization surgery, a series of bone and soft tissue reconstructive...
[more information]
Noah Pleshet's picture
Noah Pleshet
Assistant Research Professor
noahpleshet@arizona.edu
[more information]
Katherine Portman's picture
Katherine Portman
kportman@email.arizona.edu
Katie Portman is a first year Ph.D. student focusing on the archaeology of the U.S. Southwest. She grew up in the Chicago suburbs and attended the University of Notre Dame, where she graduated summa cum laude with a B.A. in Anthropology and Applied Mathematics. Katie has academic fieldwork...
[more information]
Denis Provencher's picture
Denis Provencher
Department Head, French and Italian; Professor, French and Italian
denisprovencher@email.arizona.edu
[more information]
Veronica Przybyl's picture
Veronica Przybyl
przybyl@email.arizona.edu
I am a (mostly) native Tucsonan who found her way back to this town after being away for several years. In my absence, I received a BA in sociocultural anthropology from the University of Southern California, took some time off from school only to realize that it's no fun working for minimum wage,...
[more information]
Sydney Pullen's picture
Sydney Pullen
spullen@email.arizona.edu
I am a PhD candidate in sociocultural anthropology, with a focus on applied anthropology. I received my BA in anthropology from the University of South Carolina in 2011 and my MA in anthropology from the University of Arizona in 2018. I am interested in the relationship among vocational education...
[more information]